Welcome to Our Community Development Services Department

At the heart of our community lies a commitment to empowerment, growth, and inclusive prosperity. The Community Development Services Department is your dedicated partner on the journey towards a thriving, skilled, and resilient community. Rooted in the belief that everyone deserves access to opportunities for education, workforce development, and economic success, we proudly introduce our WIOA Program.

WIOA Program 

Our Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) Program stands as a beacon of hope and possibility. This comprehensive initiative is designed to empower individuals from all walks of life, providing a bridge from education to the workforce. Here’s what makes our WIOA Program unique:

  1. Education and Training:
    • We offer a comprehensive range of education and training services that go beyond traditional boundaries. From basic skills development to advanced technical training, our programs are tailored to meet the diverse needs of our community members.
  2. Job Seeker Support Services:
    • Navigating the job market can be challenging. Our WIOA Program provides dedicated support services for job seekers, including career counseling, resume building, interview preparation, and access to job placement resources.
  3. Inclusive Access:
    • Our commitment to inclusivity drives us to break down barriers to education and employment. We serve individuals facing barriers to employment, including veterans, individuals with disabilities, and those seeking to re-enter the workforce.
  4. Community-Centric Approach:
    • The heart of our WIOA Program lies in our community. We engage with local stakeholders, educational institutions, and employers to foster collaboration and create pathways for success.
  5. Eligibility:
    • Must be enrolled in a federally recognized tribe
    • Age 18 + and out of high school
    • Residence in priority service area
    • Must be unemployed, low income, or underemployed.
  6. Acceptable Documentation:
    • CDIB, tribal enrollment card/letter, letter of descendancy from tribe, birth certificate (for Native Hawaiians only), OHA Hawaiian registry card, official ancestry verification letter via Ho’oulu Hawaiian Data Center
    • State/School I.D./DL
    • Social security card
    • Birth Certificate
    • Proof of Residence
    • Selective Service Registration
    • O’Net Interest Profiler
    • Income or Work In Texas registration
  7. Service List:
    • Career counseling and assessments
    • Financial assistance with long-term & short-term training costs (tuition, books, or academic fees)
    • Supportive services (ex: uniforms, specialized tools, exams, certifications, etc.)
    • Job readiness (resume writing & interview skills)
    • Graduation and payroll incentives
    • Scholarship and grant application assistance
    • Computer lab
    • GED referrals
  8. Service Area:

    28 priority area service counties: 

    • Archer
    • Bosque
    • Clay 
    • Collin
    • Comanche
    • Dallas
    • Denton
    • Eastland 
    • Ellis
    • Erath
    • Hamilton
    • Hill
    • Hood
    • Jack
    • Johnson
    • Kaufman
    • McLennan
    • Montague
    • Navarro
    • Palo Pinto
    • Parker
    • Rockwall
    • Somervell
    • Stephens
    • Tarrant
    • Wichita
    • Wise
    • Young